what other gameplay elements should visual novel have?

Games based mostly on classic VN gameplay without skills, statistics, etc to raise

what other gameplay elements should visual novel have (if any)?

You may select up to 2 options

View results

jack1974
Pack leader

what other gameplay elements should visual novel have?

Post by jack1974 »

So, I'm still trying to understand what people want in a visual novel, or better a story-based game...
I have a lot of mixed experiences, which I'll list:
- people hated Vera Blanc mini-games for example. And thinking that I added them to make it different from the standard VNs... :lol:
- at same time people like other mini games for example in VN like Analogue:A Hate Story (simulating a computer, typing commands, etc)
- Hunie-pop is a big minigame for example, with more strategy than I thought (I haven't played it but watched some let's play)
- I *think* that people liked the sort of adventure-like stuff I added in certain point of Bionic Heart. Something like moving from a location to another, interacting with object/people, and so on
- I'm good friend of Wadjet Eye, and I know how successful his adventures are. Maybe though is different a pixel-art 3rd person adventure, with a first person manga one? who knows...
- we all know the Ace Attorney series. Even in that case there's a main minigame with a story around it

In summary I am thinking if to add more minigame/adventure stuff in the possible future visual novels, or just keep them strictly focused on story and choices? Note that I don't include here RPG stuff like Loren or dating sim gameplay like... the dating sims :lol: I mean for games in which story is still the 90% of the focus/playing time.
Franka
Elder Druid

Re: what other gameplay elements should visual novel have?

Post by Franka »